21 Belvoir Rd
Cheshire WA4 6PE
Phone: +44 7725 234022 Facebook Twitter Instagram Youtube

BBC Philharmonic - Cooper, Gipps & Beethoven


With 2022 our centenary year, we celebrate what we do best, sharing music with you. In 2005, we released our recordings of Beethoven’s nine symphonies as free downloads and, within a week, Beethoven became the most downloaded artist in the UK. We celebrate Beethoven’s enduring popularity with his epic Ninth Symphony and continue to champion rarely performed and newly written music. Hear Ruth Gipps’s Chanticleer overture and a brand-new piece by Erland Cooper in tribute to Peter Maxwell Davies’s long and close association with the BBC Philharmonic. Here’s to the next 100 years!

Eva Ollikainen – conductor
Tuuli Takala – soprano
Kitty Whately – mezzo-soprano
Steve Davislim – tenor
Simon Shibambu – bass-baritone
CBSO Chorus

Erland Cooper Window onto Rackwick (World Premiere)
Gipps Overture ‘Chanticleer’
Beethoven Symphony No. 9 in D minor, ‘Choral’

BBC Philharmonic - Cooper, Gipps & Beethoven Tickets


BBC Philharmonic - Cooper, Gipps & Beethoven ON TOUR

Follow Us
Join Our Free Mailing List